Inventory Planner vs. Supremo

Inventory Planner focuses on configurable demand forecasting, purchasing recommendations, and broader channel planning. Supremo focuses on transparent Shopify inventory operations, from reorder points and supplier POs to stocktakes and fulfillment workflows.

This guide compares the two products by workflow, price model, and merchant fit. Inventory Planner facts were checked against vendor and Shopify sources on October 12, 2026. Supremo facts are checked against its current pricing and product pages, with current capabilities confirmed by the product owner.

AP
Abhishek Pandey · October 13, 2026

Executive Summary

Inventory Planner by Sage is a planning product for merchants who want demand forecasts, replenishment recommendations, supplier requirements, and purchasing analysis. Its official forecasting materials describe configurable models, coverage settings, planning for new products, multiple locations, and open-to-buy. The vendor's pricing page says charges are based on inventory volume and asks merchants to request a quote. The Shopify listing says the app is free to install and that additional charges may apply. It does not publish the quote amount.

Supremo is a Shopify-native inventory operations app. Its public pricing page lists catalog-based plans and says every plan includes every feature. Current capabilities include reorder points with visible inputs, vendor and lead-time management, purchase orders, stocktakes, supplier-invoice CSV import with linked PO and invoice records, three-way matching, spreadsheet or CSV PO creation, and pick-list, packing, and fulfillment workflows.

Inventory Planner is the stronger starting point when advanced forecasting, multi-channel planning, or open-to-buy budgeting are central requirements. Supremo is the stronger starting point when a Shopify merchant prioritizes transparent reorder logic, published catalog pricing, and operational purchasing and fulfillment workflows. Neither recommendation applies to every merchant. Compare actual SKUs, suppliers, locations, integrations, and vendor quotes before switching.

Primary sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner pricing, Inventory Planner forecasting, Inventory Planner Shopify listing, and Supremo pricing.

Quick Answer

Choose Inventory Planner if your team needs configurable demand forecasts, multi-channel planning, or open-to-buy tools. Choose Supremo if your Shopify store needs visible reorder calculations, published catalog-based pricing, supplier POs, stocktakes, invoice matching, and fulfillment workflows. Inventory Planner requires a quote; Supremo publishes monthly catalog tiers.

Who Should Choose Each Product?

Inventory Planner may fit if you...

  • Need configurable demand forecasts across different product types.
  • Plan purchasing across multiple channels or locations.
  • Use supplier MOQs, terms, budgets, and open-to-buy planning.
  • Want planning and forecast recommendations to drive buying.
  • Can evaluate a quote against the value of deeper planning.

Supremo may fit if you...

  • Run inventory operations primarily in Shopify.
  • Want visible reorder-point inputs instead of a forecast-first method.
  • Need vendor POs, stocktakes, and invoice checking in the same workflow.
  • Need pick-list, packing, and fulfillment operations for Shopify orders.
  • Prefer published pricing based on products and variants.

These are fit signals, not a universal ranking. Inventory Planner's official materials describe planning depth that Supremo does not claim to match. Supremo's published product scope includes operational workflows that should be compared directly rather than assumed from a forecasting feature list.

Feature Comparison

Inventory Planner and Supremo capability comparison, checked October 12, 2026
CapabilityInventory PlannerSupremo
Purchase ordersCreated from recommendations or manuallyCreate, send, and import from spreadsheet or CSV
Inventory forecastingConfigurable demand forecastingTransparent reorder-point calculations
Supplier managementSupplier requirements, MOQs, termsVendor records and lead times
Inventory transfersRecommendations across locationsTransfers in Shopify location workflows
ReceivingConfirm workflow with vendorReceiving in purchase-to-fulfillment workflow
Reorder pointsForecast-based replenishmentVisible formula using sales velocity, lead time, safety stock
Multi-location inventoryPlanning across locationsShopify location inventory
Inventory reportsAdvanced reporting described by vendorBuilt-in reports with CSV export
AutomationAutomated stock orders and reporting describedOperational automations; verify exact scope
AnalyticsPlanning and retail performance insightsOperational inventory reports
IntegrationsMulti-channel, IMS, and ERP integrationsShopify-native; confirm external integrations
Ease of usePlanning-oriented setup and workflowsShopify-native operating workflows
SupportExpert support described by vendorConfirm current support channels
PricingInventory-volume based quoteCatalog tiers listed publicly
TrialNot stated in reviewed pricing sourcesPermanent Free plan; 14-day paid-plan trial
Shopify integrationOfficial Shopify integrationShopify-native app
MigrationExport scope requires vendor confirmationShopify catalog and inventory workflows
PerformanceNo comparable public benchmark foundNo comparable public benchmark found
ScalabilityMulti-channel and multi-location planningPublished Scale plan has unlimited products and variants
Warehouse workflowsListing identifies barcode and scanner featuresShopify customer-order pick lists, picking, packing, and fulfillment confirmed; not a full WMS

This table distinguishes public claims from unknowns. “Not stated” does not mean a feature is unavailable. Inventory Planner sources checked October 12, 2026: Shopify listing, forecasting, purchasing, pricing, and PO help center. Supremo sources: features, pricing, and purchase-to-fulfillment workflow.

Pricing Comparison

Inventory Planner

Inventory Planner says pricing is based on managed inventory volume and asks merchants to request a quote. Its Shopify listing says free to install, with additional charges possibly applying. The sources checked October 12, 2026 do not show a numeric subscription price or publicly listed tier limits.

Source: official pricing page and Shopify App Store listing.

Supremo

PlanPrice listedCatalog limit
Free$0100 products / 2,000 variants
Starter$19/month500 products / 10,000 variants
Growth$49/month2,000 products / 50,000 variants
Scale$99/monthUnlimited products and variants

Supremo says every plan includes every feature. Paid plans have a 14-day trial. Confirm currency and checkout terms before subscribing. Source checked October 12, 2026: Supremo pricing.

A fair total-cost comparison needs an Inventory Planner quote and the merchant's current product and variant counts. Request a written quote that identifies the inventory-volume basis, contract period, onboarding, included channels, and any additional fees. Then compare it with the Supremo plan that covers the store's catalog. The two products use different published pricing bases, and the checked sources do not support claiming that one will always cost less.

Detailed Feature Analysis

Purchase orders

A purchase-order workflow turns a replenishment decision into a supplier order that can be tracked through delivery. Inventory Planner says buyers can create orders from buying recommendations, and its help center describes both replenishment-based and manual PO creation. Supremo supports creating and sending POs, plus PO spreadsheet or CSV creation as confirmed for the current product. Inventory Planner may suit teams that want forecast-led buying suggestions to generate orders; Supremo may suit teams that want an operational PO workflow closely tied to Shopify stock.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner purchasing and Supremo purchase-to-fulfillment workflow.

Inventory forecasting

Inventory forecasting estimates future demand so a buyer can plan stock before current inventory runs out. Inventory Planner's official page describes configurable models, adjustments to changing sales patterns, and forecasting for new products using similar items. Supremo does not claim the same forecasting system. It calculates reorder points using sales velocity, lead time, and safety stock, keeping the inputs visible. Merchants with seasonal assortments or new-product planning needs should test Inventory Planner; teams who prefer auditable threshold math should test Supremo.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner forecasting and Supremo reorder-point guide.

Supplier management

Supplier management stores the vendor details that affect cost, purchasing, and delivery timing. Inventory Planner describes managing suppliers and vendor requirements, including minimum order quantities and terms that can apply to purchase orders. Supremo manages vendor records and lead times in its Shopify inventory workflow. A business with complex vendor rules should compare how each product handles multiple suppliers, currencies, MOQs, and supplier-specific order constraints using its own data. Public pages do not establish every field or limit, so confirm those details in a product demonstration.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner purchasing and Supremo features.

Inventory transfers

An inventory transfer moves stock between locations instead of asking a supplier for more units. Inventory Planner's official materials describe warehouse transfer recommendations based on forecasts across locations. Supremo supports inventory transfers within Shopify location workflows. For a retailer with stores and a warehouse, compare whether the proposed transfers account for demand at the destination, transfer lead time, and the Shopify locations that can participate. Do not assume the same automated recommendation logic from the fact that both products support multi-location inventory.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner forecasting and Supremo features.

Receiving

Receiving is the process of checking an incoming supplier order and recording what arrived. Supremo's purchase-to-fulfillment material describes receiving as part of its operational workflow, and its three-way match capability was confirmed for the current product. Inventory Planner's cited public sources document purchase-order creation and replenishment planning, but do not fully establish receiving controls in the sources reviewed. Ask Inventory Planner to demonstrate partial receipts, discrepancies, and how received quantities update stock before relying on an assumed parity.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner PO help and Supremo purchase-to-fulfillment workflow.

Reorder points

A reorder point is a stock threshold that signals when a new order should be considered. Supremo exposes reorder-point inputs based on sales velocity, supplier lead time, and a safety-stock buffer. Inventory Planner's replenishment recommendations are informed by configurable forecasts, stock coverage, supplier requirements, and location data. These are not identical methods. Merchants should compare recommendations for the same SKUs and lead-time assumptions, then ask whether staff can understand and adjust the logic behind the result.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner forecasting and Supremo reorder-point guide.

Multi-location inventory

Multi-location inventory means tracking available and expected stock across more than one warehouse, store, or fulfillment site. Inventory Planner describes planning recommendations across multiple locations. Supremo tracks Shopify inventory by location and supports related transfers. The key buying question is not just whether an app lists multiple locations, but whether its planning workflow fits the merchant's locations, store structure, and transfer rules. Ask each vendor about location limits and whether the workflow supports one Shopify store, separate stores, or external warehouses.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner forecasting and Supremo features.

Inventory reports

Inventory reports summarize stock, movement, purchasing, or exceptions so a merchant can make operational decisions. Inventory Planner describes advanced reporting and consolidated insights across retail performance. Supremo provides operational inventory reports with CSV export. Compare the exact questions each report can answer, its filters, date ranges, and export format rather than relying on a report-count claim. If finance or audit requires a specific historical view, ask each vendor to produce that report from sample data before moving systems.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner Shopify integration and Supremo features.

Automation

Inventory automation reduces repeated manual work, but the word can refer to different levels of action. Inventory Planner advertises automated stock orders and reporting, as well as replenishment recommendations. Supremo automates parts of its Shopify-native inventory operations, while purchase orders and supplier invoice matching remain reviewable workflows. Before purchase, distinguish alerts, suggested quantities, draft orders, and orders sent without approval. Ask both vendors what can run automatically, which permissions are required, and how a staff member can review exceptions.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner Shopify listing and Supremo workflow.

Analytics

Inventory analytics explain how stock and purchasing affect business performance. Inventory Planner emphasizes forecasting, buying, and retail performance insights, including budget-oriented planning. Supremo's reporting focuses on operational Shopify inventory, including stock movement, purchasing, and count variances. A planning or merchandising team may value forward-looking analysis; a lean Shopify operations team may value direct access to current stock and transaction workflows. Compare concrete questions such as expected sell-out date, excess stock cost, vendor performance, and count variance with each product's live reporting interface.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner forecasting and Supremo features.

Integrations

Integrations connect inventory planning to sales channels, warehouse tools, and business systems. Inventory Planner describes integrations with sales channels, inventory-management systems, and ERPs, and its Shopify listing includes multi-channel capabilities. Supremo is Shopify-native and should not be treated as a multi-channel inventory synchronizer without specific supporting documentation. Merchants using Amazon, marketplaces, an ERP, or a 3PL should list each required system and verify the direction, timing, and fields of every connection before selecting a product.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner pricing and integrations and Supremo features.

Ease of use

Ease of use depends on the job a team is trying to complete, not on a universal simplicity score. Inventory Planner is organized around forecasting, purchasing, reporting, and planning; the vendor offers demonstrations and describes support for setup. Supremo is designed around Shopify inventory operations such as reorder points, vendors, purchase orders, stocktakes, and fulfillment tasks. A small team may prefer a focused operational workflow, while a planning team may accept a deeper setup to get richer forecasts. Test a routine reorder and a stock exception with real users.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner Shopify integration and Supremo features.

Support

Support includes onboarding, training, troubleshooting, and help resolving data or integration problems. Inventory Planner's public materials describe expert support and a demo-led sales process. The Supremo sources reviewed for this comparison do not state a comparable service-level commitment, so this page does not score response times or support quality. Ask both vendors about support hours, channels, onboarding scope, response targets, and whether setup help is included in the quoted or published price.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner support overview and Supremo pricing page.

Pricing

Pricing should be compared against the merchant's actual inventory and catalog, not a guessed average. Inventory Planner's official page says pricing is based on inventory volume and asks buyers to request a quote; its Shopify listing says free to install and additional charges may apply. Supremo publicly lists Free, $19, $49, and $99 monthly tiers based on product and variant counts. Request a written Inventory Planner quote and compare billing currency, limits, implementation, integrations, and contract terms with the appropriate Supremo tier.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner pricing and Supremo pricing.

Trial

A trial lets a merchant test a workflow before committing to recurring costs. The Inventory Planner pricing sources reviewed here do not state a trial duration; its listing says free to install with possible additional charges. Supremo lists a permanent Free plan and a 14-day trial for paid plans. A permanent free plan and a time-limited trial are different offers. Confirm the trial's feature limits, billing trigger, and cancellation rules directly with Inventory Planner before treating either path as risk-free.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner Shopify listing and Supremo pricing.

Shopify integration

Shopify integration determines how an inventory app reads store data and supports work inside the merchant's admin. Inventory Planner has an official Shopify integration and Shopify App Store listing. Supremo is built as a Shopify-native inventory operations app. A merchant should verify which order, product, inventory, location, and vendor fields sync, how often updates run, and what permissions are required. Do not assume that installing either app replaces the need to test synchronization with the store's own products and locations.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner Shopify integration and Supremo Shopify listing.

Migration

Migration is the controlled transfer of required data and operating procedures from one inventory system to another. No reviewed source establishes a complete, automatic transfer of Inventory Planner forecasts, saved settings, or historical purchase orders into Supremo. A merchant should ask Inventory Planner what can be exported, save the reports and open-order details it needs, and test Supremo's Shopify data import before relying on it. Keep a parallel record of open supplier commitments until the new workflow has been reconciled.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner PO help and Supremo workflow.

Performance

Performance should be measured as the time and reliability required to complete the merchant's own work, not as an unsupported benchmark. The primary sources reviewed do not provide directly comparable load-time, forecast-latency, or uptime measurements for Inventory Planner and Supremo. This page therefore does not declare a speed winner. During a trial or demo, time a representative workflow, test the catalog size and locations, and ask both vendors for any service availability commitments that matter to the business.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner pricing page and Supremo pricing page.

Scalability

Scalability is the ability to keep planning and operations usable as products, suppliers, channels, locations, and staff increase. Inventory Planner describes multi-channel and multi-location planning and prices according to inventory volume. Supremo publishes a Scale tier with unlimited products and variants and is focused on Shopify workflows. These statements describe different dimensions of scale; they do not prove that either app fits every enterprise requirement. Merchants should verify store count, user roles, integration limits, data retention, and support commitments for the next stage of growth.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner pricing and Supremo pricing.

Warehouse workflows

Supremo supports Shopify customer-order pick lists, picking, packing, and fulfillment, with order and fulfillment status syncing back to Shopify. Inventory Planner's Shopify listing identifies barcode and scanner features, which may matter for warehouse work. These claims are not interchangeable: Supremo's confirmed order workflow is not a full WMS, and barcode-assisted order picking, wave picking, and bin routing are not established for Supremo in the reviewed materials. Supremo does not support barcode scanning for receiving or stocktakes. Merchants should ask both vendors to demonstrate the exact receiving, picking, packing, and shipping process they require.

Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner Shopify listing and Supremo purchase-to-fulfillment workflow.

Merchant Scenarios

The right inventory app depends on the operating model, not just the catalog size. These scenarios show where each product's documented strengths may matter. They are decision examples, not guarantees of forecast accuracy, savings, or product performance.

Fashion retailer with seasonal products

A fashion merchant with changing assortments and seasonal demand should test Inventory Planner's configurable forecasts, planning for new products, and open-to-buy features. These capabilities may be useful when historical patterns, variant mix, and retail calendars shape purchases. Supremo may fit a Shopify-first fashion store that needs clear reorder thresholds, supplier lead times, POs, stocktakes, and fulfillment tasks. The merchant should compare both systems on several seasonal and core SKUs rather than assume one forecasting method fits every collection.

Fit: Inventory Planner for forecast-led merchandising; Supremo for transparent Shopify operations.

Electronics shop with expensive, slow-moving SKUs

An electronics merchant holding high-cost equipment needs to balance stockout risk against cash tied up in inventory. Inventory Planner can be evaluated for forecasts, stock coverage, overstock analysis, and location-level purchasing suggestions. Supremo can suit a Shopify store that prefers to inspect the reorder point inputs and keep supplier ordering connected to store operations. Test both with products whose demand is intermittent and whose vendor lead times vary. The system's recommendation should remain understandable to the staff responsible for approving the order.

Fit: Choose based on forecast requirements and the team's preferred level of decision transparency.

Wholesale merchant with multiple sales channels

A wholesale business selling through Shopify plus other channels should verify that every channel's sales and stock data are included in its replenishment plan. Inventory Planner's public materials describe multi-channel integrations and consolidated planning, which makes it a strong candidate for a channel-heavy operation. Supremo is Shopify-native and should not be presented as a multi-channel stock synchronizer. A wholesale merchant that mainly wants Shopify purchasing and supplier controls may still evaluate Supremo, but should keep channel reconciliation requirements explicit.

Fit: Inventory Planner is the stronger starting point when non-Shopify channel coverage is central.

Retailer with several Shopify locations

A retailer with several stores and one Shopify account should compare location-level recommendations, stock transfers, receiving, and stocktake workflows. Inventory Planner describes forecasting and purchasing recommendations across locations. Supremo works with Shopify locations and adds stocktake and purchasing operations. A retailer needing budget-led planning across stores may prefer Inventory Planner; a retailer centered on Shopify counts, vendor ordering, and fulfillment tasks may prefer Supremo. If the business runs separate Shopify stores, ask each vendor to confirm support for that exact account structure.

Fit: Both may fit one-store, multi-location operations; decide by planning depth and workflow needs.

Fast-growing direct-to-consumer brand

A DTC brand growing its SKU count, sales channels, and planning team may outgrow spreadsheet forecasts. Inventory Planner's configurable forecasting, purchase planning, and integrations can support a broader planning process, subject to its quote and implementation needs. Supremo may fit a brand that remains Shopify-first and wants predictable catalog-based price tiers, auditable reorder points, supplier POs, and receiving or fulfillment workflows. Growth alone is not a reason to select one product; compare complexity, catalog size, staff roles, and the actual quote.

Fit: Inventory Planner for expanding planning complexity; Supremo for Shopify-native operational clarity.

Enterprise merchant with formal operations

An enterprise merchant should evaluate requirements that go beyond a feature list: separate stores, ERP connections, data governance, service levels, user permissions, and implementation support. Inventory Planner describes multi-channel integrations and offers quote-based pricing, so it may be worth a structured evaluation for larger planning needs. Supremo publishes a Scale tier with unlimited product and variant counts, but that alone does not establish enterprise readiness, custom SLAs, or deep ERP integration. Confirm all operational and contractual requirements directly with each vendor.

Fit: Inventory Planner may better match broad planning needs; validate both against enterprise controls.

Pros and Cons

Inventory Planner pros

  • Configurable demand forecasting and forecast adjustments are described on the vendor's official feature page.
  • Supplier requirements, MOQs, purchasing recommendations, and multi-location planning are part of the public product description.
  • Official materials describe multi-channel integrations and open-to-buy planning.

Inventory Planner considerations

  • The pricing page reviewed here does not publish dollar tiers; merchants must request a quote.
  • “Free to install” on the Shopify listing does not establish a free ongoing plan.
  • The public sources reviewed do not settle all details of receiving, three-way invoice matching, or migration of app-specific history.

Supremo pros

  • Published catalog-based prices make it possible to estimate the subscription tier before requesting a sales quote.
  • Transparent reorder-point inputs, vendor lead times, Shopify purchase orders, and stocktakes target core inventory operations.
  • The current product includes supplier-invoice CSV import with linked PO and invoice records, three-way matching, PO CSV creation, and picking, packing, and fulfillment workflows.

Supremo considerations

  • Supremo does not position itself as a substitute for Inventory Planner's configurable forecasting and open-to-buy planning.
  • Supremo is Shopify-native and does not claim broad multi-channel stock synchronization.
  • Do not assume advanced WMS functions such as barcode scanning, wave picking, or bin routing without current product documentation.

Inventory Planner statements are based on its pricing, forecasting, and Shopify listing, checked October 12, 2026. Supremo product and plan claims are based on its pricing and workflow documentation.

Migration Guide: Inventory Planner to Supremo

A safe migration preserves business-critical records and verifies the new Shopify workflow before the old process is retired. The sources reviewed do not establish that Inventory Planner-specific forecasts, rules, reports, or PO history import automatically into Supremo. Treat each app's export and import options as items to verify, not assumptions.

  1. List what must survive. Record open purchase orders, supplier contacts, lead times, forecast settings, reports used by finance, and any audit history your team must retain.
  2. Ask Inventory Planner about exports. Request the available file formats, exportable fields, access window after cancellation, and whether open PO state or forecast history is included. Keep written confirmation.
  3. Back up the operational record. Export the reports and documents needed for accounting, purchasing, and future reference. Keep a reconciliation list for open orders and goods in transit.
  4. Check Shopify source data. Confirm that products, variants, locations, and stock levels in Shopify are current. Inventory Planner and Supremo use different planning approaches, so do not assume that old forecast values map directly to new reorder inputs.
  5. Install and test Supremo on representative items. Check vendor assignment, lead times, reorder calculations, purchase orders, stocktakes, and relevant fulfillment steps before changing the team's operating process.
  6. Reconcile supplier commitments. Match open POs, receipts, invoices, and Shopify inventory. Use the current Supremo supplier-invoice import and matching workflows only after confirming the CSV format and process in the product.
  7. Run both processes briefly if needed. For a controlled cutover, select a small group of products and compare expected orders, receipts, and stock changes. Avoid creating duplicate purchase orders while both systems are active.
  8. Retire the old workflow deliberately. Confirm that required records are archived, users know the new process, and no supplier is still expecting an order through the previous system.

This is a planning checklist, not a tested one-click import procedure. Inventory Planner export coverage should be confirmed with its support team. Supremo's current operational steps are described in its purchase-to-fulfillment workflow.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the main difference between Inventory Planner and Supremo?

Inventory Planner by Sage focuses on demand forecasting, purchasing recommendations, and inventory planning across channels and locations. Its official feature pages describe configurable forecasts, supplier requirements, purchasing budgets, and planning beyond the next purchase order. Supremo focuses on Shopify-native inventory operations, including transparent reorder points, purchase orders, supplier workflows, stocktakes, invoice matching, and fulfillment steps confirmed for the current product. The choice is less about which app has more features and more about whether forecasting depth or visible Shopify operating workflows solve the merchant's primary problem. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner's official forecasting and purchasing pages and Supremo's feature overview.

How much does Inventory Planner cost?

Inventory Planner does not publish numeric plan prices on the official pricing page reviewed for this comparison. The vendor says pricing is based on inventory volume, says pricing is provided upfront, and asks merchants to request a quote. The Shopify App Store listing says the app is free to install and that additional charges may apply. Those statements do not establish a monthly subscription price, so merchants should request a current quote for their inventory profile before comparing total cost. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner pricing and its Shopify App Store listing.

Does Inventory Planner have a free plan?

The Inventory Planner Shopify listing reviewed for this comparison says “Free to install” and “Additional charges may apply.” Its official pricing page directs merchants to request a quote and does not show a free recurring plan or published dollar tiers. Free installation should not be interpreted as unlimited, permanently free access to the full product. Ask Inventory Planner which costs apply to your store, which features are included, and whether any trial period or minimum contract applies. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Shopify listing and official pricing page.

What are Supremo's current plan prices?

Supremo's pricing page lists a Free plan for up to 100 products and 2,000 variants, Starter at $19 per month for up to 500 products and 10,000 variants, Growth at $49 per month for up to 2,000 products and 50,000 variants, and Scale at $99 per month for unlimited products and variants. The page says every plan includes every feature, with paid plans offering a 14-day free trial. The published page does not label the currency in the text reviewed here, so confirm the billing currency and final charge in Shopify before subscribing. Source checked October 12, 2026: Supremo pricing.

How are the two products' pricing models different?

Inventory Planner says its price is based on the volume of inventory managed and provides a quote rather than a public tier table. Supremo publishes catalog-based thresholds and monthly prices on its pricing page. These are different pricing bases, so a simple price comparison is not possible without an Inventory Planner quote and the merchant's product and variant counts. Compare the quoted total, billing period, included integrations, onboarding, contract terms, and any usage limits. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner pricing and Supremo pricing.

Does Inventory Planner support demand forecasting?

Yes. Inventory Planner's official forecasting page describes configurable forecasting models for different product types, adjustments to sales patterns, stock coverage settings, supplier and minimum-order-quantity planning, multiple inventory locations, and forecasts for new products based on similar products. The page also describes connecting forecasts to marketing activity and open-to-buy planning. Merchants should evaluate the assumptions and forecast outputs using their own sales history, seasonal patterns, and supplier lead times rather than treating any forecast as a guarantee. Source checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner forecasting.

Does Supremo offer AI demand forecasting like Inventory Planner?

Supremo's current positioning is transparent reorder planning, not a claim of matching Inventory Planner's configurable demand-forecasting system. Supremo calculates reorder points from sales velocity, supplier lead time, and a safety-stock buffer, and exposes the calculation to the merchant. Inventory Planner describes configurable and adaptive forecasting models, including forecasting for new products from similar items. A merchant that needs advanced seasonal, new-product, or multi-channel planning should test Inventory Planner's forecasts against its own data. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner's forecasting page and Supremo's reorder-point explanation.

Can both apps create purchase orders?

Both products support purchase-order workflows, but the public materials describe different paths. Inventory Planner says merchants can create purchase orders from buying recommendations and its help center documents creating orders from replenishment or manually. Supremo's feature and workflow pages describe creating and sending supplier purchase orders; the product also supports creating purchase orders from a spreadsheet or CSV, as confirmed for the current product. Confirm the exact approval, supplier communication, receiving, and accounting steps needed by your team before choosing. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner purchasing, Inventory Planner PO help, and Supremo workflow.

Does Supremo match supplier invoices to purchase orders?

Supremo supports supplier-invoice CSV import that creates linked purchase-order and invoice records, plus three-way matching, as confirmed for the current product. This can help a Shopify merchant check the relationship between a purchase order, the received goods, and the supplier invoice. The public Inventory Planner sources reviewed for this comparison describe purchasing and supplier planning but do not establish whether an equivalent three-way invoice-matching workflow is available. Merchants considering Inventory Planner should ask the vendor about invoice matching and receiving controls rather than infer support or absence from a feature page. Supremo workflow checked October 12, 2026: purchase order to fulfillment.

Which app is better for supplier and minimum-order-quantity planning?

Both products describe supplier-related purchasing capabilities. Inventory Planner's official pages say merchants can manage suppliers and vendor requirements, including minimum order quantities, and can apply supplier details such as currency and payment terms to purchase orders. Supremo provides vendor records, lead times, and purchase-order workflows. The best fit depends on whether the team needs planning recommendations that incorporate supplier requirements or a direct, visible Shopify-native workflow for vendor data and ordering. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner forecasting, Inventory Planner purchasing, and Supremo features.

Do Inventory Planner and Supremo both handle multiple locations?

Inventory Planner's official product materials describe purchasing and warehouse-transfer recommendations across multiple inventory locations. Supremo's public feature pages describe tracking stock across Shopify locations and transfers within the Shopify inventory model. This supports comparing both for a merchant with several locations in one Shopify store. It does not prove that every transfer, warehouse, or separate-store scenario works the same way in both products. Confirm the number of Shopify stores, location limits, and the required transfer workflow with each vendor before migrating. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner forecasting and Supremo features.

Does Inventory Planner support sales channels beyond Shopify?

Inventory Planner's Shopify listing and official pricing materials describe multi-channel inventory visibility and integrations with sales channels, inventory systems, and ERPs. That makes broader channel coverage a relevant reason for a merchant to evaluate the product. Supremo is positioned as Shopify-native and this comparison does not claim that it synchronizes inventory across non-Shopify sales channels. A merchant whose primary need is consolidated planning across marketplaces or multiple storefront systems should validate Inventory Planner's exact connector coverage for each channel in its own account. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner Shopify listing and pricing page.

Does Inventory Planner help with open-to-buy or purchasing budgets?

Inventory Planner's official forecasting materials include open-to-buy planning and describe planning buying budgets by month or retail week. This can matter to retail teams that need to coordinate purchasing with budgets, seasonal assortments, or merchandising calendars. The reviewed Supremo materials focus on Shopify inventory operations and do not establish an equivalent open-to-buy planning module. Merchants that rely on budget planning should ask Inventory Planner to demonstrate how the feature uses their calendar and product data, then compare it with their current budgeting process. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner forecasting and pricing.

Can either app run stocktakes or cycle counts?

Supremo includes stocktake workflows that let merchants count stock and review or apply inventory variances, according to its feature and workflow materials. Inventory Planner's public feature pages reviewed for this comparison emphasize forecasting, purchasing, replenishment, reports, and integrations; they do not establish a dedicated stocktake workflow. That is a statement about the sources reviewed, not proof that no such capability exists. A merchant for whom cycle counting is essential should request a demonstration from Inventory Planner and test Supremo's count process against the locations and products they need to reconcile. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Supremo features and Inventory Planner Shopify listing.

Does Supremo have pick, pack, and fulfillment workflows?

Supremo supports pick lists, picking, packing, and fulfillment for Shopify customer orders, with order and fulfillment status syncing back to Shopify. That confirmed workflow is not a claim of full WMS capability. Supremo does not support barcode scanning for receiving or stocktakes; support for barcode-assisted order picking, wave picking, and bin routing is not established in the reviewed materials. Inventory Planner's Shopify App Store listing identifies barcode and scanner features. Merchants who need any of these specific warehouse workflows should ask both vendors to demonstrate them. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Supremo workflow, Supremo barcode-scanning scope, and Inventory Planner listing.

Which app is better for a merchant who wants transparent reorder points?

Supremo is the more directly aligned option for a merchant who wants to inspect a fixed reorder-point calculation and adjust the underlying inputs. Its approach uses sales velocity, lead time, and safety stock rather than positioning the recommendation as a black-box forecast. Inventory Planner emphasizes configurable forecasting models and replenishment recommendations. That does not mean its recommendations are unusable or unexplained; it means the two products emphasize different planning approaches. Ask Inventory Planner to show the model inputs and product-level explanations relevant to your assortment. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner's forecasting page and Supremo's reorder-point guide.

Does Inventory Planner have a trial?

The official pricing page reviewed for this comparison asks merchants to request pricing and does not specify a trial duration in the pricing information inspected. The Shopify listing says the app is free to install and that additional charges may apply, which is not the same as a stated free trial. Ask Inventory Planner whether it currently offers a trial, what functionality is available during it, and whether billing begins automatically. This answer is limited to the public sources checked on October 12, 2026. Sources: Inventory Planner pricing and Shopify listing.

Can a small Shopify store use Supremo for free?

Supremo's pricing page lists a permanent Free plan for a catalog of up to 100 products and 2,000 variants. The page says each plan includes every feature, so the Free plan is not described as a time-limited trial or a feature-restricted preview. Stores above the Free catalog limits can compare the published paid tiers with the cost of Inventory Planner's quote. Check the product and variant counts used for billing, along with the displayed checkout currency, before making a decision. Source checked October 12, 2026: Supremo pricing.

Which app is better for a multi-location retailer?

Both products describe multi-location inventory planning, so location count alone does not decide the comparison. Inventory Planner's forecasting materials discuss recommendations for multiple inventory locations and transfers. Supremo supports Shopify location-level inventory and transfer workflows. Inventory Planner may be the closer fit when locations need to be planned alongside forecasts, channels, and buying budgets. Supremo may fit a retailer whose locations operate within Shopify and whose core work is reorder planning, supplier purchasing, stocktakes, and receiving. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner's forecasting page and Supremo features.

Can I move from Inventory Planner to Supremo without losing data?

Do not assume that every Inventory Planner setting, forecast, report, or purchase-order history will transfer automatically. Before changing systems, ask Inventory Planner which data can be exported, in what format, and for how long it remains accessible. Separately confirm which Shopify product, variant, location, and inventory data Supremo imports on installation, then test with a representative subset. Keep an independent copy of purchase orders, supplier records, and reports needed for accounting or audit purposes. This comparison does not promise a one-click migration or verified transfer of app-specific configuration.

Which app should a merchant choose if advanced forecasting is the priority?

A merchant who needs configurable demand forecasts, forecast adjustments, planning for new products, multiple channels, or open-to-buy budgeting should evaluate Inventory Planner first. Those capabilities are described in its official forecasting and purchasing materials. A merchant who mainly needs Shopify-native reorder calculations, supplier purchase orders, invoice matching, stocktakes, and fulfillment workflows may find Supremo a closer operational fit. Neither product should be selected from a feature checklist alone. Run a demonstration using representative products, sales history, lead times, locations, and the team's actual purchasing process. Sources checked October 12, 2026: Inventory Planner forecasting and Supremo features.

Final Recommendation

Inventory Planner is the better starting point for merchants whose core challenge is planning future demand across product types, channels, suppliers, and locations. Its official materials describe configurable forecasting, replenishment recommendations, open-to-buy, and integrations. Its pricing is quote-based on inventory volume in the source reviewed, so request a current quote and validate the workflow with your own data.

Supremo is the better starting point for Shopify merchants who want visible reorder-point logic, a published catalog-based price, and operational work in one Shopify-focused flow. Its current scope includes supplier POs, stocktakes, invoice CSV import and three-way matching, plus pick-list, packing, and fulfillment workflows. It is not presented here as a full WMS or a replacement for multi-channel demand planning.

Before choosing, test the same products, lead times, sales history, and supplier constraints in both systems. Compare forecast quality, staff effort, PO controls, receiving, reporting, integrations, and total ownership cost. Inventory Planner can be the stronger fit when planning depth matters most; Supremo can be the stronger fit when transparent Shopify operations and predictable published catalog pricing matter most.

Want visible reorder points and Shopify inventory workflows?

Supremo offers a free plan for stores with up to 100 products, with every feature included on each plan.

Research note: Inventory Planner public sources were checked October 12, 2026. Vendor pages do not expose a publication or revision date for every feature and pricing statement, so the date checked is stated here. Recheck the official pages and obtain a current quote before purchase. Supremo price and workflow details were checked against the current first-party pages on the same date.